Association of Higher Education Financing Agencies (AAHEFA)

You are here: Home About us Governance and Management

Governance and Management

Email Print

The Association is governed by the following two organs;

  • General Council
  • Executive Council

The General Council

This is the top most organ of AAHEFA which consists of Chief Executive Officers of the Member Institutions or their alternates and Head of the Secretariat as ex officio member.

The Executive Council

The Executive Council of AAHEFA consist of the following;

  • The president
  • Vice president
  • Secretary General
  • Deputy Secretary General
  • Treasurer
  • Deputy Treasurer
  • Head of the Secretariat (Ex-officio)

The Executive Council Members are as follows;

  • Mr. Charles Ringera; AAHEFA President & Chief Executive Officer, Higher Education Loand Board (HELB) KENYA
  • Ms. Ireen Chirwa; AAHEFA Vice President & DirectorHigher Education Loans and Scholarships Board, ZAMBIA
  • Mr. Michael Wanyama, AAHEFA Secretary General & Chief Executive Officer, Higher Education Students' Financing Board (HESFB), UGANDA.
  • Mr. Eugene Moyo; AAHEFA Treasurer & Ag, Director, Tertiary Education Financing Department (TEFD),  BOTSWANA
  • Mr. Alex Kanyankole; Deputy Treasurer & Chief Executive Officer, Development Bank of Rwanda,  RWANDA
  • Mr. Ochola Wayoga; Chief Executive Officer, AAHEFA


  • Zephania Maduhu - Program Coordinator. Zephania is a Lawyer by Profession.
  • Mr. Ochola Wayoga is the Chief Executive Officer of (AAHEFA). Mr. Wayoga has extensive and hands on experience developed over the past 13 years as a management consultant, capacity building expert, trainer, business development expert and organizational management expert. He has had an opportunity to work with private organizations, Civil Society organizations and Public Institutions.  He holds MBA – In Strategic Management from Newman University (USA) 2003 and undergraduate Degree in Accountancy from Institute of Finance Management (2000) - Dar es Salaam.

The Association is also governed by three Committees namely;

  • Strategy, Technology and Operations (STO) Committee
  • Legal, Finance and Staff (LFS) Committee
  • Audit, Risk and Governance (ARG) Committee

These three (3) Committees are chaired by the Chief Executive Officers of Member Institutions as follows;

  • Mrs. Florina Rakaketsi; Strategy, Technology & Operations Committee Chairperson & Director, National Manpower Development Secretariat (NMDS) LESOTHO
  • Mr.Fred Mugisha -  Legal, Finance & Staff Committee Chairperson & Senior Manager in charge of Education Finance, Development Bank of Rwanda
  • Mr. Lerato Nage ; Audit and Risk Committee Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) SOUTH AFRICA

Click on a thumbnail to see a larger photo of commitees with descriptions


Visitors  Counter


Photo  Gallery


Mailing  List

Please Enter Your Name and Email Below to Join our Mailing List
Enter the Security Code: AAhefA2012

Quick  Contacts

facebookbox2 twitter box2linkedin youtube instagram.fw